Battelle-Tompkins Memorial Building, American University

Dublin Core

Title

Battelle-Tompkins Memorial Building, American University

Subject

The American University Centennial (1893-1993)

Description

"We dedicate this building to the students of American University who here will discover
an increasing fountain of knowledge and to that great body of students who in future days
will here assemble."

(From a "Ritual of Dedication" spoken at the dedication ceremony December 7, 1926.)

Constructed in 1926, the Battelle Memorial Building was the
university's first free-standing library. The building was named for
the family of J. Gordon Battelle (1883-1923), a trustee of the developer
from 1920 to 1923. The Tompkins wing, named for the developer
constructing the addition, was opened in December 1957 and the
north wing added in 1964. The library collections were moved to the
newly completed Bender Library building in 1979. With a major
contribution from trustee Robert P. Kogod and his wife Arlene, the
building was renovated and became the home of the Robert P. and
Arlene R. Kogod College of Business Administration. The law library
opened in the A. Reckman Myers Hall wing on December 6, 1979.

Source

Latitude: 38° 56’ 14.268” N
Longitude: 77° 5’ 17.78” W

Identifier

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Battelle-Tompkins_Memorial_Building,_American_University.jpg

Files

fullsizeoutput_75f.jpeg

Citation

“Battelle-Tompkins Memorial Building, American University,” American University Project Plaque, accessed February 27, 2024, https://auprojectplaque.omeka.net/items/show/62.